March 3, 2011

  •  

    Isn’t the combination of faith, fellowship, and food so special?! That happened today!

    There was a Women’s Meeting held at a Mennonite Church and Kathy, Sandy and I decided to have a Cousin’s Day and attend this scheduled event.

     

     

    IMG_4596

     This is our speaker – Doris High…….

     

     

    IMG_4597

    ….quick to smile and known for her easy laughter!

     

     

     

    IMG_4598

    As we entered the church, this sight greeted us. The ladies who organized the pastry table did a super  job. It was sooo inviting and very tasty!

     

     

     

    IMG_4601

    As I was talking to Doris before the morning session started, this lady came up to her, introduced herself, and told Doris she follows her xanga postings but had never met her before. I think they felt like friends instantly!

     

     

     

    IMG_4630

    In the back of the church were approximately 140-150 perpetual calendars made by Doris and her husband, Cerwin. There are 31 cards – one for each day of the month. This is the title card.

     

     

     

    IMG_4634

    I took this picture at home to show you in case you would care to make one. She said Cerwin made them from pine. The cards fit on here perfectly.  Doris wrote each day’s thought which goes  along with her topic today.  She told us she likes to keep things like this “in her face” to encourage her on her spiritual walk.  Doris and I go to the same church (Church of the Brethren.) She spoke at our church about a month ago and had 150 plus of these for our ladies! What a blessing of their time and love! This was a very, very special gift.

     

     

     

    IMG_4602

    I

    10am and it is time to start this meaningful day. Joanne has asked Doris to come forward to the mic and is praying for her and for our day. What a precious gift prayer is!

     

     

    IMG_4612  

    I don’t have the best camera for distant pictures – especially inside with white walls in the background so I hope you can bear with me. Doris’ subject is:

    “Complaining Is Not A Fruit Of The Spirit”

    Some of my notes…..

    Do I complain because I’m thinking about me?

    We exist to make a big deal out of Jesus!

    Lord, do not let me get caught in a complaining rut.

     Doris went over some verses in I Corinthians 10 where the complaining of the Children of Israel was listed right along with some sins we call awful. Read verses 1 – 11. It is very convicting.

    On my tablet I wrote –  ”Goal: Be aware – am I building up or tearing down?”

     

     

     

     

    11:30 – those wonderful words – LUNCH!

    IMG_4605

    Finally – I’m showing you my two special cousins! Sandy is on the left; Kathy on the right. This is sooo wonderful for the three of us to be together today. Sandy lives two hours away. Kathy lives closer but we don’t get to see each other often – not near often enough.

    No, we weren’t like little children who want to start their meal with dessert. We had delicious lasagna, chicken lasagna, rolls, and salad.

    (Sandy works as a substitute Teacher’s Assistant at a public High School. She’s a tiny pint next to most of the high school guys but that doesn’t stop them from giving her a big hug when she enters the classroom!  She loves the opportunity of touching their hearts with the love of Jesus!)

     

     

     

    IMG_4608

    It was a joy for me to attend today for several reasons. I have friends who are members at this church that I don’t get to see often. This is Evelyn; I value her friendship. 

     

     

     

    IMG_4611  

    Afternoon subject:

    ” Blessing Your Loved Ones by Your Attitude.”

     

     

     

    IMG_4613

    I’m only using this picture to make you curious!   

    Doris got our attention very quickly with this reading you see above. Please go to Doris’ address below as she is going to have this posted Friday evening. Remember – we are learning today to NOT complain. If you are a woman/mother, you will love it!

    (If you don’t see it, keep checking back – I’m not sure what time Friday evening she will post.)

    http://cerwindoris.xanga.com/  

     

    Two of my notes from this afternoon:

     ”If Jesus took my place today, what would be different in my home?

    Do my children know it’s a delight to be a Christian, to follow Jesus?”

     

     

     

     

    IMG_4622

    It’s been a JOY to be here today – convicting and encouraging.

    The three of us emailed each other this evening – reminiscing about the day and how special it was to each of us. Kathy summed it up for me with her words –

    “Today was an oasis in the midst of a busy couple of weeks.”

    Kathy and Sandy are very much involved in others’ lives. We all know that is rewarding but can also be draining. Kathy does maternal/infant visits as a home care nurse and teaches CPR classes for the hospital.  She touches many lives one-on-one as she administers her nursing wisdom. She radiates Jesus’ love! If you need a nurse, I’ll give you her phone number!   Sandy is also a very faithful minister’s wife along with her other responsibilities at school.

    Yes, Kathy, it WAS an oasis today!

     

    I praise the Lord for the time Doris put into her lesson and for ladies who see the importance to set aside a day for spiritual encouragement. Thank You to all of you! 

     

     

     

     

    IMG_4603

    I had a very special surprise after our morning session. This  lady asked me if I was Cordy. We have never met before but occasionally drop a note on each other’s blog! 

     Thank you Loaine !(xanga name)

     

     

     

Comments (25)

  • Delightful in sooo many ways!

  • Sounds like a wonderful day filled with challenges. Cherish each time you get to fellowship with other women in this way. What a treat I’d love to have.

  • How refreshing!  I was refreshed just reading the quotes & notes you shared!  I love that you had this wonderful opportunity to enjoy encouraging & challenging teaching as well as delicious food & great fellowship with old friends!  Sounds like the day was a breath of fresh air!  What a thoughtful gift they made too… WONDERFUL!  I will be checking in on her blog to read her post!  This spoke to me the most:  “If Jesus took my place today, what would be different in my home?  Do my children know it’s a delight to be a Christian, to follow Jesus?”

    I read the updates & was rejoicing that little Trevor was able to come home to his family!  PRAISE GOD for answered prayer!  Blessings to you & your family!

  • As soon as I saw Doris’ picture, I thought….I think that’s the lady that Cordy sent me the calendar from!!! It was indeed! I would have loved to have been there to hear her comments for the day, how refreshing and invigorating. I will definitely be checking out her website again.

    I just talked to my Mom this evening, they are traveling out to OH the end of the month to pick up a travel trailer and then will be making their way down to SC….they are going to be heading through some Amish communities on the way looking for a coffee table….I told my mom to keep her eye out for the calendar holders and have sent her a picture of what yours looked like to have an idea of what I am looking for. I am getting so excited to see something like this come to fruition at our church!!

  • That sounds like one of those just perfect days and i’m glad you got to go.

    Also been meaning to come on here and thankyou for the lovely photo’s and notes… i poured over it and just enjoyed them so much.  Your family just looks so beautiful and healthy.

  • I have the privilege of knowing the wonderful lady Doris Jean was talking too (as I teach her daughter piano)~ SHE is a blessing to me! :)   Anyway, was fun to see pictures and again be reminded of the wonderful day at White Oak!  God has used Doris Jean to bless many people!  :)  

  • I am not able to be participant in those ladies meetings, but Doris blessed me with my own perpetual calendar when my husband and I stopped to see her on the spur of the moment last month. I have been enjoying it so much. Not only because it is such a rich resource, but also because I know Doris and know that the things she has to say come out of a heart that loves the Lord and is intentional about loving people for Jesus’ Sake. I was hoping that we would get a chance to see one of her meetings from the view of a congregate, so this is a gift from you that is a blessing to me. Thanks!

  • @setapart1979 - That spoke to me also so very loudly – “If Jesus took my place today, what would be different in my home?” So challenging!

    Thanks again for praying for Baby Trevor. I babysat for Beth and Doug Friday evening and I took my camera along to update my pictures of him. I only have one other one and that is at the hospital. But he was way too interested in eating so I have to wait! :)   I was not comfortable yet to keep Trevor as he still has the oxygen. I want to be with Beth for an hour or two to observe how she cares for Trevor before I have the three of them. Mikayla and Dylan were so precious and did so well for us.

  • @Buckeyegirlie - I’m so grateful you enjoyed this and that it blessed you. How kind of Doris to give you a calendar. They made sooooo many! Yes, she truly does love her Lord.

  • @Missionfieldof5 - I SO hope Melissa that I hear you say your mother found some calendar holders! I love your enthusiasm for this. It truly is a blessing to do them – and – to receive them. Leave me know when that first one “comes off the press!”  :)    ~Blessings

  • @pianowithjen - Thanks, Jenny. It was really fun to read that you know this lady and the respect you have for her. I wanted to put a first name with the picture but Doris did not remember what her name was – she met sooo many people that day!

     It was a joy to see your baby shower pictures on face book! I could see you were blessed! ~So happy for you and Elvin!

  • Wow! What a spread! All that food looks so good, I think it’d be hard to control myself and only eat what I needed! How fun that Doris was the speaker for that ocassion. She sounds like such a special lady; all I know is what I see on Xanga and that’s very impressive…Jesus is definately coming through her! AND you! I’ve missed reading your blogs. It is SO hard to keep up, but when I do pop into your world, I feel blessed. Sooooooooooo, THANK you!

  • Isn’t Xanga fellowship great? I have loved reading Doris’s posts for years. How fun to see her sweet face on your blog (and yours,too! *S*) It sounds like she gave a much needed talk! What a neat gift her husband helped her make and give to the women. Such a neat couple! Thanks for sharing your day!

  • @georgene - It was so good to hear from you! Yes, it was a very meaningful day. I was so impressed that Cerwin and Doris would take so much time to make sooo many calendars for all these ladies – plus the ladies at our church when she spoke there in January! I enjoy being encouraged to draw closer to my Heavenly Father; if only I could remember to apply it all!!! :) ) ~Blessings

  • Oh it is always fun to hear from you my friend. I’ve told you more than once I’d love to sit at your kitchen table, sipping tea, and learning to know you! As I read your journaling, it sounds like a continual growing experience with your Heavenly Father. That must be such a pleasant aroma to Him. Doesn’t scripture speak of the aroma of our worship to Him. Let’s keep on keeping on. ~Blessings

  • looked like a great day.

  • faith, fellowship and food. a special combination indeed. you gotta an amen from me! :)
    the food looks fabulous, the “eating kind.” and meaningful too! the soaking in “His words and encouragement kind” through doris and friendships.
    and btw. i actually saw doris yesterday in the make-a-wish crowd on rt 222. isn’t that funny?!

    thanks for stopping by my site and introducing yourself. it is always fun to make a new friend and i appreciate your kind words.
    i don’t know what all this journey is about…yet. but sometimes i can see a glimpse of where it is taking me…eventually. :)
    when i read your comment i felt like you were cheering me on. thanks so much for that. blessings to you!

  • @down_onthefarm - You are kindred spirit with the faith, fellowship, and food amen!! :) )  And yes, you are correct; I was trying to cheer you on! With your eyes on the Lord as you are doing, I am looking forward to your “story” yet to come! I wish you God’s blessings! 

  • @Richgem - I just now looked at a post that came in today….(it’s been sooo long since I’ve journaled.) And I couldn’t believe my eyes….I have a response to your thoughts – (you’ll see it on my last blog…a post without a name!!!) ….I’ll reprint it because I WANTED you to have it. It’s dated 4-6-11!!! Somehow I didn’t get your name where it should have been! Oh my word!!! Let’s say it must have been LATE at night so I feel better. Oh dear friend, we are in a new chapter. My dear Nevin’s mother became forgetful about a year or so ago and soon we saw it is far more than just forgetfulness. It happened so very quickly…other people have said the same. She has dementia. It is so sad to watch.  In the last four months we see she really shouldn’t be at home anymore. They had their name at a Retirement Village three years ago but were not ready to go at that time. Now it is difficult to have mother and dad go because she is no longer thinking clearly and says she does not want to go. Dad realizes that it is time and he has been a real gem. All that to say, when I saw my mistake above, I said, “Dear Father, please protect my mind!” I had them here for Mother’s Day yesterday and it can pull you down.

    I’ll reprint what I wrote to you….if you come back here it is right below my message to georgene.

    4-6-11 “Oh it is always fun to hear from you, my friend. I’ve told you more than once I’d love to sit at your kitchen table, sipping tea, and learning to know you. As I read your journaling, it sounds like a continual growing experience with your Heavenly Father. That must be such a pleasant aroma to Him. Doesn’t scripture speak of the aroma of our worship to Him. Let’s keep on keeping on. Blessings.” You must have thought I was so ungrateful not to respond. Oh my, I’m so thankful I saw this as I appreciate hearing from you!

  • Hi Cordy! Oh no, I didn’t think you were ungrateful in not responding! Please don’t think that!!! I totally understand when people don’t respond…..life is so busy for some and inSANEly busy for others, and there are different reasons for not keeping up with everything. I am enjoying (mostly) a continual growing experience with the Father, learning the truths about who He is, and having more and more light bulb moments about the Holy Spirit, Jesus, Heaven, forgiveness, understanding, LOVE! I am a slow learner. A forgetful being. One of those prone to A.D.D. I just need to take better care of myself and focus on what’s really important >  my Savior!

  • thanks so much for your sweet comment recently~ meant so much you’d take the time to stop in, catch up, and encourage! :) this post looks like something i would have loved being at.. can’t beat getting together w/ other christian ladies and talking and sharing and lifting each other up! and so fun to see Doris as the speaker~ i saw her pic and was, “oh.. i know her!” ;)

    blessings to you for a wonderful summer!

    love, amber.

  • Thanks for all the pictures!

  • I really miss your updates ..I am guessing you no longer use xanga.do you use facebook ??

  • @homesteadtessie - Dear Teresa, I am sooooooooooooooooooo sorry; somehow this was tucked away and forgotten :(   YES, I still love xanga but have not been on my own since Easter. I have been trying to organize and since I don’t multitask well at all, xanga went on the back burner. I had decided on my birthday (yesterday) I am going to try, with the Lord’s help, to be more scheduled. You know so well what summer is like with the canning and freezing. I still have tomatoes, applesauce, and I’d like to freeze sweet potatoes. Yes, I use facebook occasionally. But, for me, xanga still is my favorite!! It was special to receive birthday greetings yesterday. I will always be a child-at-heart when it comes to birthdays! :) Hope you are doing well. Do you use facebook?

  • so good to hear from you recently, friend. your words always mean so much~

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories