Month: December 2011

  • My Dear Friends,

    I have greatly missed you!

    How do I explain my absence? No, I have not moved to facebook although I visit there occasionally. I’m calling it “absent for a season.”

    I had several projects started and was not getting them completed. I found I was neglecting nearby friends who needed encouragement. Some of the young girls that I taught in my Sunday School class have been in mission work and I’ve neglected staying in their lives. I guess it boils down that I don’t multi task well. I think I did when our children were growing up. Is that a sign of getting older?!

    I look forward to coming back.  My head and heart are full of stories to share and pictures to show.

     

    Nevin has been so very precious in my life ~ encouraging me and helping me. My winter project is finishing ABC albums for our grandchildren. This is taking each letter of the alphabet and adding several pictures to make it meaningful for them, individually. It’s not A for apple but a picture of them helping to make applesauce in our basement, for example. It is also journaling my thoughts. It is time consuming but a joy once I get started. I have two finished and six to go!! My goal is to finish four of them this winter.

    DSC_0066

    I would like to leave a New Year’s Blessing for you.

    “I am thinking of you today because it is New Year’s Day, and I wish you happiness. And tomorrow, because it will be the day after New Years, I shall still wish you happiness. I may not be able to tell you about it every day, because I may be far away or we may be very busy. But that makes no difference – my thoughts and wishes will be with you just the same. Whatever joy comes to you will make me glad. Clear through the year….I wish you God’s blessings.”

    May His Presence always light your way.

    Love, Cordy

     

     

    Before I leave for today, I want to share one of my “joys” this past year. You will remember Jo – she comes in our area once a year to spend the day with Nancy and me. Well, she had her 60th birthday this year. We wanted to bless her on this very special day. I called her daughter and asked her to tell Jo that someone was stopping in to take her for lunch. We drove almost two hours to do this so I thought we were pretty safe that she wouldn’t guess it would be Nancy and me. And I was correct :) ) This is Jo below just as we arrived……………

    IMG_4555

     

     

     

    She WAS surprised! This was so much fun!

    IMG_4556

     

     

     

    She is a young-looking 60!

    IMG_4558

     

     

     

    When our children were all still at home, we three couples would go to the mountains over Labor Day weekend. We have lots of memories that we cherish. As I mentioned we get to see each other once a year….and sometimes it’s longer then that for our husbands to get together. This is Jo’s husband, Duane. He was in the area and stopped in to see how Jo was handling her surprise! :)

    IMG_4559

     

     

     

    It seemed like the time just flew. It was soon time to say goodbye for about another year. Thank you Lord for sisters in the Lord.

    IMG_4568

     

     

    ~AND I thank the Lord for each of you. I have enjoyed your friendship so very much.

     

Recent Posts

Categories