September 12, 2010

  • Reminiscing! 

    (From years ago to five days ago)

    I visited Rachel's Mother. I went to bless her....took some pictures of Rachel along. You know how that is; you leave and realize you are the one that received the blessing! 

    We were reminiscing about the many days I was in their home spending time with Rachel in my early teen years! We ate together, played together, and prayed together. The time went by quickly for Mary and me as we remembered, together.

    Mary will be 99 in October!!! Her mind is SO clear! She gives the glory to God.

     

     

     

     

     This reminiscing is from about a year ago. Reba (the smallest friend) offered a "tea certificate" for our school benefit sale. We ladies had the blessing of her hospitality and delicious meal. Her joy is contagious. I love looking at my pictures to keep this time of fellowship a dear memory.

     

     

     

     Doretta, on left, is VERY careful with her sugar intake! That's what made this scene enjoyable to me. I think someone was giving her a hard time that she took THREE pieces! happy

     

     

     

     We were outside enjoying Reba's flower beds. This is my niece, Gwenda on the left and my daughter, Barb, in the center.

     

     

     

     

     This finds me reminiscing about a month ago. While their Mother and oldest brother went school shopping, I asked if they would help me tame these kittens. They were born in our shed (we don't have indoor pets) and therefore don't have hourly contact.

    There is no question of the beautiful difference between little boys and little girls as they play with trucks or dolls. But I saw it in the way they played with kittens!!

    I think someone is scheming - something!!

     

     

     

     Her first ride in a wagon! She even seemed to enjoy it. But it wasn't too long 'till I heard a sliding sound. I decided to investigate.......the kittens were on blankets (required by grandma) and were on a fast ride that went in circles!!

     

     

     

     Seth and Darin - we found other things to do after the kittens went back in the shed....before they got motion sickness!

     

     

     

     

    This lovely friend is celebrating her 60th birthday! This reminiscing comes as recently as last week!

     

     

     

    These ladies met ahead of us at the restaurant and sat at the table awhile. Erma thought she is meeting Nancy and me to celebrate her birthday. We told her it is time to catch up in each others' lives. Erma said goodbye to a son and daughter-in-law who moved to Maine in mission work and Nancy said goodbye to her mother who went to her Heavenly Home.

    My stomach was in knots when I stopped by Erma's home to take her along to the restaurant. I love surprises but let's get there quickly and make it happen!

    Nancy, Erma, and I happened to meet someone elderly right outside the door of the restaurant who knew ALL of us - the ladies inside, included. They talked with us awhile (I was getting more knots in my stomach) - and then the dear man said, "There are ladies waiting inside for you!!!!!!"

    Well, these happen to be some of the "dear ladies!"

    Dorinda's (on right) cell phone rang about two hours into the meal and it was her husband Ken. In conversation she told him we are still at the restaurant. "You're still THERE?!!" was Ken's reply! winky You just can't rush a good thing, Ken!

     

     

     

    Meet Julia, my dear, dear prayer warrior.

     She wasn't hiding from my camera; I don't remember what was said that brought this reaction.

     

     

     

     

    Marian is the oldest in our group today but truly young at heart. She works so hard in her garden as they sell produce. I learned today that she enjoys it. From early produce to late, they have it. Another lady I have learned to love dearly.

     

     

     

     Well, these were to be the original ladies in Erma's mind to have a time of sharing over a birthday meal! When we were told "there are ladies in there waiting for you" I didn't dare look at Nancy and quickly said  - something - I'm not sure what anymore!! Surprised or not, Erma made the day special for the rest of us! Happy Birthday Friend!

     

     (Theda, it felt like you should be here today! May the Lord bless you as you serve Him in Grenada.)

     

     

     

     

     

     Sara was also at Erma's birthday celebration but I failed to get a picture of her! sad

    The above picture brings sweet reminiscing from five days ago! She blessed me by inviting me to lunch to celebrate my birthday! It was the first time for Sara and me to do this. It's good no one was keeping tabs on our time at the table as we talked, and talked, and talked!

     

     

     

     

     She bought my meal so even though I AM a dessert person, I didn't want to order dessert. Sara said, "We must have dessert at birthday meals!" Oh, my kind of friend! happy This restaurant is known for their chocolate cake so we shared this as I truly was getting full.

     

     

     

     In the same parking lot where the restaurant is there is an antique store. Sara asked if I enjoy antiques so we decided to spend some time in there. Reminiscing was what happened big time in here as we saw items that our grandmas had....and items our mothers had in their kitchens. Do you like this canister set?

    Thank you Sara for new, fun, and meaningful memories for this birthday!

     

     

     

     Last but not least............

     

    Do any of you remember this quote in an earlier picture I showed you? It was early Spring when we were at a cottage enjoying a Christmas gift from our daughter and her husband.

    "Enjoy the little things in life for one day you will look back and realize they were the big things!"

    At that time of posting I said, "I would love to find this in a store - it's a wonderful reminder to keep relationships a priority."

     

    Oh my! Oh my! Several weeks later there was a bag above our church mailbox. It was securely closed so I started pulling it open because I couldn't remember anything that was to be coming. I had only a little bit open when I saw what was inside. I wish I could have seen my eyes! I couldn't believe it! The very words that I longed to have in front of me!!!!!

    And I have NO idea who gave it to me as there was no name included! I long to thank someone for your dear kindness and leave you know how much I appreciate this gift! I would love to do that in person - but for now, I hope you will read on here how precious this gift is to me. Thank You!

     

Comments (10)

  • Happy birthday Cordy... I'll be praying that the Lord continues to richly bless you in the year to come!  I was so excited to see that you'd posted... it's nice to read about what you've been up to, your adventures & the blessing of wonderful fellowship!  I never fail to have a great big smile on my face as I read your posts & look at the photos.  I hope that when we get to the season of life that you guys are in that we'll have the blessing of sweet fellowship & simple, special joys that you enjoy!  The quote is perfect & what a thoughtful gift!  I hope that your hospitatlity has been going well!

  • What a lovely post! You are so blessed by so much love and so many friends and family surrounding you! Our God is so good!

  • Oh, that was a fun and interesting post - mostly because I knew everyone. :)

  • @setapart1979 - Thank You, Amber. It was Soooo good to hear from you!! I thought of you over and over when you were at your church camp - just praying that it would be a meaningful experience! ~Blessings

  • @jennikim - Jen, I truly do have a grateful heart for fellowship with friends. Thank you for your comment.

    Did you have a good birthday - away with your hubby? I didn't get back to read yet after you came home from your weekend. Blessings as you continue to love and guide your little ones.

  • Hi Cordy!!! My xanga sub list didn't show me your postings! I am so glad I checked in on you! And I'm sorry I missed your birthday! This morning I prayed for you and now, tonight I get to see how you are. At least a little bit. Your grandsons are very funny, putting the cat in the teeny wagon. Well, I must go.  Have a fabulous week!

  • @Richgem - Thank You Gail! What a precious gift to have a praying friend!

    I was surprised "Pumpkin" stayed in the wagon!! She didn't even attempt to get out! :)

    I look foward to coming to visit you again. Most of my canning and freezing is over for this year. I hope to spend more time with friends here! ~Blessings

  • I missed this update too!  I was so blessed today to see all those faces of dear friends!  Thanks for sharing with us!  Nevin watched over my shoulder as I paged through your site!  Oh and Yes I would have been there if an ocean had not separated us!  Love, Theda

  • Dear Cordy,
    I missed this post update as well, there must have been a Xanga glitch...I only saw it as I saw the newer post!! I hope your birthday was blessed, I was out of town camping and missed it as well as your Anniversary. I hope both were filled with blessings.

    I enjoyed your housecleaning post....I know this must sound just completely insane, but the Lord has laid it on my heart for over a month now that I should go over to our church and really, really clean the pews....they are wood like yours and they just look sooo dirty sad to say. i would love to get in there with some good wood cleaner and wood polish and just start at one side and go all the way through....listen to the word of God in the background or something...I just don't know how I would do that with all the children....but then after reading your post...maybe I could just put them to work!!!! I haven't even asked yet if the Pastor would let me do it....anyhow...

    It was great to see your updates, all those wonderful smiling faces so joyful in the Lord!!!

  • Great job with the pictures!  Thanks for saying something about checking your site.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories