January 20, 2011

  • Memories and tears were a large part of my morning!

    We said goodbye to our Colorado family yesterday after enjoying them for 16 days!

     

    As I said last time, I would continue showing you a few more of our perpetual calendar pages. I decided my first one will be a comforting one!!

     

    L1020994

    We don’t see this couple often enough – they live a distance away. Nevin and Darvin met each other about 43 years ago when we were all single. Later Dorothy and I became friends and today we cherish their friendship. They are dependable prayer warriors. He is a pastor at God’s Missionary Church and therefore are very busy people. It was a joy to have their picture included on their page!

     

     

     

    L1020988

    Another dear friend who lives about an hour away. Her life is a beautiful testimony of God’s grace. She is an inspiration. You see how each page brings wonderful blessings as I not only read what they have sent for us but their lives “come alive” right from the page!

     

     

     

    L1020989

    Barb did several pages for us – and helped her boys with their pages! She gave them the card that has their birthday.  This one she is complimenting her Daddy!

     

     

     

     

    L1020987

    Don’t you just love this recipe for friendship! They are serving the Lord in Grenada.

     

     

     

     

    L1020992

    Oh my, where do I start to describe my respect for Billie! I wish you could hear her testimony! She was a troubled youth searching for God. She tried everything – everything. After hearing her testimony, I was so encouraged never to stop praying for someone’s salvation – no matter how far away they are from God. She was not raised in a Christian home and therefore the search was basically alone. How I praise God for His guidance!

    I went to my first Creative Memories Fall Workshop by myself. That is not me. But I really wanted to do this, had Nevin’s blessing, and off I went – 50 minutes away. I knew my consultant, Susie,  had assigned seats. I prayed that she would put me somewhere I would be comfortable! The lady to my left was very warm and made me feel at home. Billie was to my right and for awhile was quiet. I tend to be that way also. Later we got a conversation going – and that started a sister-in-Christ love for each other until this day.

     

     

     

    L1020986

    This happens to be the young father who took my grandchildren to Colorado!!!

    I went to our nearby bulk food store today, hoping I wouldn’t see anyone I knew. :) I didn’t feel like crying in front of anyone. I saw a lady from church; she gave me a hug. Thank you Janet. I saw another lady who I bump into only at our grandchildrens’ school functions. I was surprised to see her here. She reminded me that my tears could have been from sad memories. That made me think! I left there thanking the Lord for precious tears. 

    Thank You Lord for our children. The 14 of us spent various times together throughout these 16 days…..celebrating Christmas, having an indoor camping event. We had planned to roast hot dogs outside; Nevin had the wood to do that but the adults chickened out with 20-some degree weather and very strong wind! Therefore we used our coal stove for the occasion!! :) Smores worked well that way also!

     

    I think I will stop here for today. I have just a few more to show you a bit later.

    Blessings on the remainder of your week. ~Cordy

     

Comments (9)

  • Keep showing your beautiful creative calender pages. I have made some in the past & I’m getting ideas from yours for the future. I can understand why they are a blessing to you.

    Thinking of tears, today it is 7 years that my Father died & also tomorrow it will be 7 yrs my Mother died–just 28 hrs apart from each other. I think some tears are “healthy” tears.

    I really appreciate your writings; keep it up.  .  .  .JM74

  • I love seeing your perpetual calendar pages.

  • I am sorry for your tears but thankful you had the precious memories to tide you over. Your calender pages have been wonderful to see. Does each lady laminate her own, or do you just ask them to send you something and you piece it together?

    I am thinking it would be neat to put one of these together for the pregnant ladies at our church…I know a 31 day calender would be helpful for the last month for those that are fearful of the birth….but a 9 mo. calender would be neat.

  • Everytime you post pictures of this beautiful & thoughtful calendar I am so blessed to read each one!  The verses, personal touches & your stories of the deep friendships & love behind each one… what a treasure!  I love the idea the previous commentor mentioned of creating one for pregnant ladies… my mind is brimming with ideas of calenders for newlyweds, graduates, new mothers, etc.  How wonderful that you got a nice long visit with your family… what a blessing that you ran into your church friend who encouraged you heart as you were missing them.  Sounds like a lovely time together… thinking of you often & remembering you & your family in prayer.

  • I have missed you Cordy! I keep expecting xanga to let me know you’ve posted something! Tears…sometimes happy but mostly sad. Sometimes refreshing, mostly cleansing, washing over the feelings in the soul. I cried many tears in 2010 and hope that the tears this year will be happy ones. God will be with me, no matter what, an ever-present help in troubling situations. It’s a blessing to see that your grown up children love you so much! And so do your friends!

  • @JaneMiles74 - HOW did you handle losing your parents 28 hours apart?! Were both unexpected? My daddy fell over from a heart attack and it was such a shock. We loved him dearly; I cannot imagine losing my mother hours later. I’m sure you have a testimony of God’s faithfulness to you at that very hard time. “Great is thy faithfulness, O God my Father…..”as my September 18 card is written. Thank you for sharing this.

  • @Missionfieldof5 - Oh my Melissa, what a wonderful idea for pregnant ladies! I never thought of that before but it would have to be a blessing. Barb mailed the cards to people. She kept a record of who had each date. Once in awhile someone will misplace their card and not know the date.So that little tip is very helpful.

    The cards come with the ring that you saw so they can be easily flipped. They are dated January 1 to July 1. On the other side of July 1 is July 2 and so forth and then goes to December 31st. Today is January 25. On the other side of that card is December 7. I’m not real good at explaining. Does that make sense? Barb took all the cards out of the ring….mailed them with an explanation , when to return them, and then she laminated them. When they were all returned, she put them back in the ring. It is a precious gift to me. They are 4 x 6 cards. I have them on hand for recipes. I have had to use one of my own already as I made a mistake on the one I was given. Then I punched holes in that card and wrote the date on that was given to me. Again, I love your idea, Melissa.

  • @setapart1979 - Your prayers are a treasure to me, Amber. Thank You! I also loved the idea of making this for pregnant ladies. Can you imagine the blessing that would be!! There were so many I would have loved to put on here to show my friends but my first intentions were to show the variety of thoughts that can be used…..verses, songs, poems, appreciation of friendship, etc. My sister has the card for January 28. She drew a hand (it represents God’s hand) and in the palm of His hand, wrote the word, “Burden.” She then has a picture of a Susie Zoo character RUNNING toward the hand and wrote this beside it: “Praise be to the Lord, to God my Savior, who DAILY bears my burdens! Psalm 68:19″ Isn’t that precious! It is a word picture that is so full of meaning. It is amazing to see what all these different people came up with. Some are very creative; some are very simple but all have touched my heart. ~Blessings to you and your loved ones 

  • @Richgem - Dear Gail, I know I would love to sit across the table with you and listen. You have so much to share; you keep growing and learning. I’ve seen it through your journaling. My heart would love to hear your journey in 2010. Thank you for keeping on keeping on. That is such a testimony!  I pray also that your tears this year will be happy ones.

     Believe me, I have missed you also. If you lived nearby you would know I am not a speedy person. With Thanksgiving, Christmas, and then our family living here, I  just could not do all I wanted to. By this age you would think I would accept this by now! I have a precious Mother who is 84 and speedy! She can do more than one think at once!! :) One morning years ago I was packing lunch for Nevin and to talk to him, I stopped packing and talked! He said ever so kindly (as he soon needed to leave) could you talk and pack at the same time!! :) )  I long to schedule everthing more wisely this year so I can be on here more as I am so very blessed by all you dear friends. Thank you for leaving a message! ~Blessings

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories