December 24, 2009

  • Merry Christmas

    Dear Friends!

    Christmas is a special time to praise the Lord for the gift of His love that binds our hearts through every season of the year!

     

    It is soooo good to be "back on the air!" Some of you have been praying for me and not even sure why the Lord was laying me on your heart. Thank You! I have always enjoyed writing letters in the past; that joy has spilled over into xanga entries. That doesn't even include the joy of fellowship on here through encouragement and the power of prayer that we give to each other. But I have been struggling with good, better, and best for several months. I can't seem to juggle everything - good things! Several weeks ago I saw a sign at a church which read: "Beware of keeping Christmas - but loosing Christ" I pondered that over and over. I love this time of year recalling the Christmas story and sharing His love with others. But over the last couple months some days my quiet time with the Lord has been pushed until later in the day because I have spent time on here. Occasionally it has been bedtime until I sit and visit with my Father. I also enjoy doing my entries after the day's chores but then I don't get the sleep I need. I enjoy having guests in for meals and that is not happening. Here I am - 60 this year and struggling with a schedule!!! Figure that out! Nevin has been a wonderful blessing in my life (as usual!) helping me when I get on behind. I know the enemy will try to take even something good (xanga fellowship) and allow it to become a stumbling block in my walk with the Lord. I have missed you all so much but I KNOW I need to come up with some kind of schedule - so I have victory! My quiet time is very important to me. This is what some of you have been praying about  Thank you! Thank You!

    Enough about me.................. 

     

    I want to share with you one thing that happened this month that I journaled into my "I Spy" notebook. An "I Spy" is seeing the Lord in my day in a way that I had not expected. I do record those "happenings" as it strengthens my faith when I look back over those experiences the following year and years.

     

    IMG_0954.jpg

    You'll enjoy hearing about this fellowship  - straight ahead my friend Becki and on the right, Reba. We are combining  fellowship today with Jehovah's Witness, Mennonite and Brethren! Now how is that for a grand mixture!!   Becki works hard and long and was ready for some "round the table" talking.

     

     

     

    IMG_0952.jpg

    Becki said, "Can she or can't she?!"    It was huge!!

     

    In July we also had plans to have a meal together which included Rachel....all four of us went to school together from first grade until graduation. Some of us don't see each other for a very long time. The week before we were meeting for a meal in July, Rachel discovered she had leukemia. From then until now she has been receiving treatments and is planning on a bone marrow transplant the beginning of January. (I know she would appreciate your prayers.) On this December day, after  our meal together, I was planning to visit with Rachel - only my second time. (She was my maid of honor 40 years ago!)

    I was not even planning on mentioning that information with Becki and Reba; not because I didn't want to just because it didn't seem necessary  BUT as we sat around the table in conversation I said  that  I was going to be stopping with Rachel after our meal.  One of the girls said, "Let's all go." (For awhile Rachel wasn't having many visitors simply to protect her health. But  she is feeling really good right now and has more friends stopping in.)

     

     

    I wish you could have seen Rachel's face!! She was expecting only me.

    IMG_0958.jpg

    This doesn't do justice to the moment! She hasn't seen Becki  and Reba for several years! Can you see why I call it an "I Spy" in my day?! It just changed her day!! We sat and talked for quite awhile. I was so very grateful to my Heavenly Father that those words came out of my mouth (I am visiting Rachel.)

     

     

     

    IMG_0960.jpg

    Becki stopped by her house before meeting at Rachel's and brought some sand tarts, pepper jam, and applesauce she had made!! (She had given sand tarts and pepper jam to Reba and me.)

     

     

     

     

    IMG_0969.jpg

    This is our Rachel - as I mentioned she is feeling good right now. This expression is so much her! Becki is trying on a wig Rachel has on hand although she said she is not sure she is going to wear it. It was one of those precious moments bringing lots of laughter which was good for all of us. "Thank You dear Father for the memories this day brought - that none of us had planned at the start of our day! A day where Rachel was very blessed!"

     

     

     

    IMG_0956.jpg

    This was taken before we stopped by Rachel's home.  Becki had made the note at her home and wanted the picture to go with the note which she was planning to give to Rachel  after her surgery.

     

    In closing -

    "With glad hearts let us remember the true meaning of Christmas...

    The love born,

    the hope to be had,

    the joy to be shared!"

    Love from our hearts to yours!

     

Comments (8)

  • Thank you for sharing so openly what you've been working through lately.  I appreciate your honesty & also your insight!  The quest for balance & the maintaining of the right priorities is such an ongoing struggle in my own life so I can totally understand what you shared.  You have been on my heart often & I will be praying for this need particularly... could you please pray the same for me???  It's hard in this season with small children when the desire for fellowship is SOOO great & as I've now seen after reading this post it is hard in many different seasons!  I always enjoy witnessing your special days spent with dear friends.  Those long held friendships are such a treat... my longest is now 5 years with my maid of honor from my wedding but I look forward to one day being able to claim 40 years!  I will pray for Rachel... you are such a blessing to others Cordy!  Wishing you a most merry & blessed Christmas.

  • @setapart1979 - Thank you, dear friend. You do so well with expressing yourself. I can hardly believe this priority problem has surfaced - again. Years ago (when the children were in school) I struggled with having my quiet time in the morning and had beautiful victory in time.....decided I would not eat breakfast until I had my quiet time with the Lord! That worked!! :)   I actually taught a lesson at several Ladies Fellowships' meetings titled "A Place of Quiet Rest" - meeting God in the morning. For years and years and years that is how I started my day after just a few morning chores. This current struggle started about 1/2 year after my last time of speaking. I truly feel, for me, it is an attack of the enemy but came on so slowly that I did not recognize it.  It sounds so childish when I see it written in front of my eyes; it's hard to explain but it's a battle and so I am seeking His direction for a schedule.  I believe the enemy hated that I was lifting the importance of the Word to dear sisters. I cannot tell you how much it means that you have prayed for me.....that the Lord brought me to your mind. Thank You!

    Dear Amber - recently on Focus on the Family, Dee Bristin (spelling?) spoke of the value of women friendships. It was an excellent discussion. She also has written a book on this topic. Yes, that desire for fellowship is great when you have little ones and the imput of other believers is very valuable. Do you have any ladies' groups meeting at church that would help fill that need? When our children were little, we didn't have that. I know Sundays were sooo very special to me as I longed for that fellowship with my friends. From reading your entries you do so well at having couples in for meals and games. But I also know one on one with a dear friend is helpful to our emotional well-being. Oh yes, I WILL pray for you in this area. I know the wonderful victory in the past and am pushing for that again. I long for that for you also.

    I am amazed that I would be going through this again....a totally new season as you worded it. I think some of the "being behind in chores"  stems back to when I had my hysterectomy....my blood count was at #6 - very low. The tiredness came on so gradually that after awhile it was normal to be tired. After blood work this was discovered. It took long to build up my energy.

    Instead of getting discouraged, let's thank the Lord we want to do what is good and right! On the other hand, you sound like me - you expect a lot of yourself. I know there is a balance. And with the Lord's help we will find it!! Please give Kyrie a Christmas hug for me...she is just so precious.  Merry Christmas Amber to you and Adrian. I wish you God's blessings and peace as you search for balance.  Love and prayers, Cordy

  • Thanks for sharing.  I have been missing you, but just know that it can go awhile that I get to posting, so didn't really think about it much.  It's interesting that after I had my hysterectomy, I too slowed down ever so slowly.  It is SO frustrating.  I used to work morning til night and couldn't wait to get to my list the next day.  THAT HAS CHANGED.  Satan is sooo clever....such a thief.  Yes........let's resist him!!!

  • @trustinghisheart - You do not know how much you encouraged me! When you know someone has "walked the same road" and understands! Also the encouragement to not allow the enemy to be the thief that he is. That is what I am doing...trying to find a schedule to give me the full peace that I used to have!! Where is the balance to be Martha and Mary?! Thanks so much for your thoughts; I really appreciate them.

  • I'm home again and seeking to "catch up" on things. Thank you for sharing your heart. I too believe that "the thief" of mankind is seeking all he can devour and if we can be kept from fellowship with our Heavenly Father he is getting what he wants. It is a daily struggle when one is busy with little ones and other things that seem to take precedence over our quiet time. One we each face. I pray for you and myself.

  • I loved this post. It is good to see Rachel laughing and feeling well.

  • @houseintheprairie - Glad to see you are safely back home again! Thanks for your thoughts; as always, I appreciate your wisdom. ~Blessings and Happy New Year!

  • @cerwindoris - Thanks - it is a memory I'll cherish for awhile to see her surprised and blessed by these two other ladies!

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Posts

Categories