February 7, 2010

  •  

     

    I received an email today that read "Summer's Almost Here!"

     

     

    Really?

    L1010933.JPG

     

    L1010942.JPG

    L1010950.JPG

    Friday evening at 4pm our snow started and lasted until around noon on Saturday. What a beautiful picture! I found myself walking to the windows very often to take in this lovely scene. When it was finished, we had 21 inches of this white stuff!

     

     

    For our devotions this morning at church, our minister asked us to sing this song reminding us of the wonderful privilege we have of bringing our sins to our Heavenly Father and receiving His forgiveness.

    Would you  like to sing with me.....

    "Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Tho' they be red like crimson, They shall be as wool! Tho' your sins be as scarlet, Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow, They shall be as white as snow."

     

     

    L1010954.JPG

    This snow is the cause for taking a quick break from my Reminiscing theme and going on a walk down Memory Lane.....Summer memories. I need a reminder about now of that warm, warm weather that I might tend to complain about.

    I wish I was a Literature teacher at this point. Then I could better explain what I felt in my heart. I'll try to take you on a tour through the five senses given to me by my Heavenly Father. 

     

    Tea of Blessing!

    IMG_6859.jpg

    Mother wanted to bless her daughters and granddaughters; she asked Lois if she would have a tea for us. Earlier Lois had her mother-in-law, Marian, and Marian's sisters (which included my Mother) for a tea. My Mother was so blessed by Lois' gift from the Lord just flowing through each touch and wanted to pass this blessing onto us. 

     

     

     

    IMG_6860.jpg

    If you look closely, the yellow hand fans have a little flower pot and blossom for a handle. Our menu is listed on here. At the very top it says,

    "Tea of Blessing with Family, Friends, Sunflowers, Peaches, and God's Goodness."

    It was exactly this!

    We were given the white doily to take home.  I love recalling these memories when I see mine. Above is my mother.....no, this isn't her normal attire but we girls decided to pull out the little girl hats for this day.

     

     

     

    IMG_6864.jpg

    Some of Lois' family helped with last minute touches and then serving. This is Lois' sister-in-law, Kathy. (She also arranged the flowers.) She is giving a Fruit Bouquet to Wendi. Lois' oldest sister, Becky, is behind Kathy. My sister, Dawn, is to the left. You will probably remember it is her husband, Glenn, who has the brain tumor.

     

     

     

    IMG_6866.jpg

    Lois' daughter, Jessica, is helping to serve the "Pretty Peach Soup" in an ice bowl. I tried to get a closer picture to show you.

     

     

    IMG_6869.jpg

    This was not only pretty but very delicious! The recipe is in our church cookbook. The flowers pressed into this were beautiful.

     

     

     

    IMG_6872.jpg

    We enjoyed Apple Harvest Tea Sandwiches, Chicken Salad served in a DayLily, Cucumber Sandwiches, Ham and Cheese Spirals, and Turkey Malibu Wraps! Ummmmmm - my mouth is watering just remembering!

    Today I was very grateful for the gift of sight - the beauty in each prepared "food gift"....the lovely, lovely prepared gazebo located on the lawn between the house and the barn, nestled next to green bushes, pine trees, and tall trees.

     

     

     

    IMG_6874.jpg

    Gwenda had excused herself a bit earlier to use the restroom. She is now posing the statement/question to anyone within listening range - "My candy is missing!" Look at Wendi's face - she does not know what happened to it. Now look at Beth's........she knows!  Next to Beth's glass of water is a glass container with a lid. That is where our candy is - listed on our menu as "Mint and Sweet Endings."(They were!)

     

     

     

    IMG_6875.jpg

    The guilty one!!   

    My very favorite Barb! She's about to remove Gwenda's candy from her glass container!

    The gift of hearing - the warm welcome by Lois....the laughter of loving family....the prayer Mother gratefully gave to our Father before we started our tea....Thank You, Lord, for the blessing of hearing.

     

     

     

    IMG_6877.jpg

    I don't have hardly any pictures of Connie, Lisa, and baby Heath. It was easier to take pictures to my right, as you noticed. This is Orchard Peach Sorbet. It is in just a slightly frozen peach and so very refreshing. You can see the Sweet Endings a bit clearer, here.

     

     

     

    IMG_6883.jpg

    Lois made sugar cubes in the shape of butterflies. We had the choice of Huang Shan Sunset Tea or Mint Medley Tea. We then had Lemon scones and Sunflower scones. Yummy!

    The gift of smell - the flowers on the table beckoned a nose put close....the hot tea lifted to drink brought an inviting aroma...in the flower pot we  found a lavender sachet  in a white hankie. This was a very clean, warm scent - one we took along home to enjoy.

     

     

     

     

    IMG_6884.jpg

    Yes, these three girls again. Mother was to my immediate left and I saw later I don't have ANY pictures of her except the first one and group pictures afterwards!!  I was so intent on capturing  pictures of all these food items before we devoured them.

    Dessert:  Almond Butter Balls, Chocolate Mousse Tower, Fluffy Lemon Squares, Lamingtons, and Raspberry Bars.

    Where do I begin to express gratefulness for the gift of taste?! It falls in the same category of sight. How does one truly express what the eye sees? How does one express the pleasure of food which you see was lovingly prepared by your hostess? Today loveliness and wonderful taste go hand in hand. 

     

     

    IMG_6892.jpg

    The gift of touch...was receiving the hugs given in love and appreciation for each other as family. It was a time away from routine and enjoying the fellowship.  Touch was also a feeling of gratefulness to the Lord as we felt  the restfulness of the two hours surrounded by Lois' warm hospitality.

    This Tea of Blessing has an added meaning to it when you find out that Lois prayed for us and this day. She uses her gift from the Lord to bless others. And that she truly did.

     

           It looks like I may have to refer to these special memories again and again this week as they are calling for

    more snow tomorrow evening!!!

     

     

Comments (10)

  • How nice to see your tea pictures in the middle of winter.

  • looks like a beautiful, beautiful time!!! very special, thanks for sharing.

  • What a lovely Tea Party. The Lord has truly blessed all of us with his gifts! Stay warm!! I look forward to more pictures :)

  • Hi Cordy, so nice to hear from you, Wow I can't believe all that snow!!!  And what a beautiful TEA!! Great pictures! We will be in 70 degree and sunny temps next week in Arz. and Calif. Can't wait!! It has been so nice here this winter been in the 40s and 50s. We had our main snow in Dec. Don't have much after that.

    Stay warm and God Bless, Sharon

  • What a beautiful tea party! Such unique recipes. I know you had such a beautiful day! What a blessing!

    Any chance you'll ever be sharing the recipes???? Hint, hint!!!

  • @buana - Hi Jill - you are right! But I am amazed how, when using our gift from the Lord, it just FLOWS! Lois just loved what she was doing....it came so naturally for her. If I tried something like that, it would be work and stress! Isn't it a joy discovering what our gift is?! Thanks for visiting.

  • @georgene - I've noticed sometimes when a food item is really pretty it is not always especially tasty. Her food was sooo delicious. I wish I could enjoy it all over again!! :)

    I love sharing recipes - but the only one I have is the peach soup recipe because it is in our church cookbook. Oh my, that was refreshing. I'm not real big on cold soups....this was yummy, yummy! She used fresh peaches, apricot nectar, sugar, and peach yogurt. The red you saw on top was frozen raspberries which she made into a puree. If you would like to try it, I will glady print it for you. ~Blessings on your Lord's Day.

  • @threejoys - 

    I'm occasionally involved in 'Tea Party's' so I'd love to have the recipe. No hurry. Thanks so much!

  • @georgene - I am so sorry, dear friend, that I have not responded sooner! I MEANT to and it got forgotten. I am happy to share this recipe....Lois (our hostess) has it in our church cookbook.

    Peach Soup

    1 c. frozen raspberries, thawed     3 c. fresh peaches     3 T. lemon juice    1 c. apricot nectar

    1 c. (8 oz.) peach yogurt                1/4 c. sugar, optional                           1 tsp. almond extract

    Place raspberries in a blender; cover and process until smooth. Strain and discard seeds. Cover and refrigerate puree. Place peaches and lemon juice in blender; cover and process until smooth. Transfer to bowl; stir in apricot nectar, peach yogurt, sugar if needed (if fruit is tart,) and almond extract. Cover and refrigerate for 2 hours. To serve, place in pretty glass berry bowls or ice bowls. Garnish with 1 Tablespoon raspberry puree in a 3" circle on top of each serving. Use a toothpick to draw six lines toward the center of circle to form a flower.

    This was so very special! Hope you will get to try it sometime. ~Thanks for your patience in waiting for this. If this would happen again - just ask me!!

  • @threejoys - 

    Bless your heart! Thank you so much for the recipe. What a great thing to try in the summer when the fruits are harvested. You're a dear!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories