February 13, 2010

  •  

    WE'RE OUT - 56 hours later!!

     

     

    The snow arrived about 4 pm on Tuesday evening and Thursday night just a bit before midnight I saw lights flashing......it was a V-Plow!! (Our home is on the right.)

    L1010981.jpg

     

    L1010967.jpg

    Notice the stakes....Nevin had doubled them - using duct tape to keep them together so the snow plows could see where our lawn started. The road is to the left of those stakes! You can see we were going nowhere for awhile!

     

     

     

    IMG_1181.jpg

    I found myself going to the bow window, often, in hopes of equipment opening our road. I saw this beautiful flurry of snow.....

     

     

     

    IMG_1183.jpg

    .....it was our neighbor, opening their lane. It was super windy today....causing huge drifts.

     

     

     

    IMG_1187.jpg

    When Nevin opened our garage door to clear our driveway, this is what he saw!

     

     

     

    L1010973.jpg

    There was a snow drift on our porch and walk.  I knew the exercise would be good and thought it would also shortened Nevin's workload if I help. Because of the strong wind, it was r-e-a-l-l-y cold!   Nevin stopped his tractor and insisted he takes a picture. I told him I'm not dressed for a xanga picture!  He didn't care!  

     

     

    IMG_1205.jpg

    I had company!

     

     

    IMG_1198.jpg

    I don't know how many times I heard Nevin say how thankful he is for this blower!

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1232.jpg

    As you saw on the first picture, we had only one lane traffic for awhile on Friday. That morning I didn't get a lot accomplished for some time as I enjoyed watching three pieces of equipment working on our road. The V-plow is in our driveway waiting for the tractor and blower to pass.

    Last week we had a snow storm of 21 inches; this week we had a blizzard amounting to 15 inches. I can enjoy snow storms; blizzards feel dangerous. I felt for anyone who had medical needs or mothers due any time with their baby.

     

    We went for groceries together this evening as they are calling for MORE snow on Monday. If I could give a vote, I'd say we have had enough!

    I trust that wherever you live,

     you are finding God's grace bringing joy to your heart.

     

     

Comments (8)

  • Well, my dear, I'd say you've had enough, too! And I think that picture of you is a perfect xanga picture because it is real you in real life doing real snow shoveling!!! ( :  I'll pray for your safety and that all is well with your loved ones!

  • Wow!!! I told Earl this reminds me of when I was a little girl with high drifts on either side of our lane and road. I don't remember having snow like that in years since. I can picture it all for sure. It is amazingly beautiful, but I know it is bad when there are medical needs etc. Be thankful there wasn't power loss at the same time. We went without for 18 days here in 2000. Thank you for sharing your pictures.

  • Now is this you, Cordy?  How exciting. :)   So lovely to find you here---yes, I hear you on the kindred hearts. :)   WARM Sonshine on your heart today. :)

  • WOW!!!  A winter wonderland!  I'm glad that the snowplow made it's way to you & I hope that the blizzards stay away!  I think all that snow would make me nervous but I love how you ended your post with the wonderful reminder of God's grace wherever you are.  I had to smile at what you shared about your husband photographing you even though you weren't dressed for a "Xanga" picture!  My hubby does that all the time & I say the same thing!  Thank you for your encouraging comments about Asher's birth... I am beginning to feel a small measure stronger each day despite the fatigue & seeing God's hand clearly in joyful bursts each day.  Thank you for your support... as always you've blessed me!

  • Dear Cordy, so good to hear from you. Wow, you all are really socked in up there with the snow!!! I am thankful you were finally able to get your road cleared!! Your pictures are wonderful and truly tell how bad it was/is up there for snow piling up!! Have a blessed week! And Happy Valentines Day!!

  • Look at all that snow! I love the pictures where you can truely see that you are snowed in! So pretty. The plows and roads would spoil the peace, quiet and clean look.

    I love your picture, skirt and all! Stay warm!

  • I've missed you.....and you've been buried in the snow drift.....lol      I think you have had ENOUGH too.  We'll see what HE says.

  • F-U-N snow pictures!!! I am about 1 1/2 hours from Hershey, so we had snow like that too!
    Thanks for stopping by...I enjoy the interaction and appreciate your visit!
    His blessings to You and your family today!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories