February 20, 2010

  •  

     

    Sunday, February 14

    "Make me a blessing, make me a blessing, to someone today!"

    I thought about this song a lot after we were home from our meal and fellowship at Steve and Martha's home.....

     

    IMG_1275.jpg

    Steve and Martha were that blessing today.......

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1269.jpg

    We enjoyed a  wonderful  meal!

    Do you remember my friend, Rachel, who is walking the road of Leukemia?  Martha told Rachel to choose the menu today. How special is that?! Rachel isn't up to extra cooking so this was really special for her.

    She chose roast beef, mashed potatoes, and lima beans. Martha added delicious homemade bread, baked corn, and glazed carrots. Her mother (my aunt) brought cranberry sauce and Joanne made a cranberry salad. Is your mouth watering yet?!  Rachel's husband, Dave, is next to her and is Martha's brother.  

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1282.jpg

    Dawn is my sister;  Glenn is my brother-in-law with the brain tumor. He has not had a seizure since September 2009 and we are rejoicing for each additional day!!

    We're having fun here....Dawn is telling us how Glenn gives her advice as SHE drives!  Because of past seizures, he is not allowed to drive as of yet.

    At some point in our conversation, Martha praised each of these couples (a third one yet) for holding onto Jesus throughout their battle with cancer. On this Valentine's Day, she honored each of these with a very special meal. It meant so much to me to see this very thought-out kindness.

     

     

     

    IMG_1285.jpg

    This cranberry salad is wonderful! Back to the subject....Joanne is the third one dealing with cancer. The young man (Tim) is Steve and Martha's son. I can understand why he still lives at home - the cooking is w-a-y too good to leave!

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1301.jpg

    A closer picture of Joanne. Martha's kitchen is so cheery with lots of light shining in...making it a room that beckons you to come in and enjoy your time there. We were surrounded by relatives today - Nevin and Joanne are first cousins.

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1291.jpg

    This picture really struck me how much mother and daughter look alike! Marian passed on her love of cooking to Martha and  her skill! (Marian and my Mother are sisters.)

     

     

     

    IMG_1299.jpg

    It just blesses me to watch good fellowship with men!  I remember so well when I was first married and one of my friends, a  single girl who was about 34, told me she would much rather sit in a room  with men and listen to their conversation as ours....

    "You ladies just talk about having babies and children!" She was always pretty forthright but kind! (Those qualities can go hand in hand!)   :)

    Martha and Steve were in Alaska doing work with Samaritan's Purse.  Steve, Nevin, and Gerald are looking at those pictures. Gerald is Joanne's husband.

     

     

     

    IMG_1264.jpg

    This table represents, to me, a lot of love put into this Valentine's Day. The kind of love that I see as  laying up treasures in Heaven. I was so grateful to be included in this meaningful day.

     

    P. S. One of our desserts was homemade vanilla ice cream! Yummmm!

     

     

Comments (12)

  • looks like great food shared with great friends. :)

    shayne and i were talking recently about how amusing it kind of is to think how God created food... i mean He could have had us just take a pill a day or whatever :) but He created nourishment with so much creativity. and look at all the ways it brings people together. just an interesting thought... :)

    have a happy sunday.

  • Wow!!! Looks like a very special day!!  I was not aware that Joanne was dealing with cancer...  Have to add her to my "prayer list" ...  She and Gerald were youth advisors when I first joined the youth group!  What a neat way to honor loved ones ~ Martha is a wonderful person!

  • That looks like a really good time.  So glad Glen is doing better. 

    You are special to God and I.

  • Now that was a thoughtful endeavor..........and everyone blessed!!!

  • I love how you make the most out of every visit & every special occassion.  It sounds like such a special celebration with lovely food & even lovelier fellowship!  How special that Rachel & Glenn & Dawn could spend the day with everyone as well.  Praising God to read that Glenn has been seizure free for so many months.  Hugs & prayers.

  • Wow, what a beautiful meal with beautiful people! This is so special and Martha is a great example of how to care for poeple so much that she would allow them to choose the menu and she created a great atmosphere for everyone! I love this! Love, GAil

  • Yes... my mouth is watering! Looks like you had a lovely time!

  • Hi there! I am sorry it took me so long to get back to you about your comment...thanks for the nice words by the way.  I do not really know if the bread recipe would work if not done in a bread machine. I don't know why it wouldn't tho. It does come out the nicest dough...whatever recipe I use in it.  I also have one I use often for croissants.  Quick Cooking or Taste of Home (not sure which one) used to have a two page spread in each issue with bread machine recipes. I got a recipe out of there for dinner rolls that is so delicious and has a can of mandarin oranges and some cottage cheese in it.  You can't really taste either but they come out wonderful! I suppose using a hearty mixer would probably be just as good....or you could request a bread machine for your birthday..or mother's day:)).  I have some more recipes I want to put up I just haven't taken the time.  It is nice "meeting" you...hope you have a great evening!  ~Elvida Yoder from Delaware

  • HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT DAY:) MISS YOU :)
    You must be a busy lady ,you are never on here anymore !
    you have missed some pretty amazing things!

  • @homesteadingtess - OH MY!!! I did miss something so very, very precious!!!! Thank you for leaving me know! Congratulations, Grandma and Grandpa! Isn't this a wonderful gift from the Lord! I love the name - Grandma! I never want to take it for granted as I just love these grandchildren so very much!

    Yes, I have been extremely busy and also our monitor quit!! That will get you out of the computer world pretty quickly!! :)

  • Not only is my mouth watering, my stomach is growling. The pictures of food folks put up can really affect you. I wonder when they will make them scratch n sniff?????  

  • @plainlady - :)) She IS a wonderful cook.  We both have mothers who are sisters.....both her Mother and my Mother excel in cooking, baking...just being in the kitchen! It doesn't come as naturally to me but I do enjoy trying. The fellowship around the table was also precious. You add the two together and I call it "Heavenly!" We get so busy, don't we. It is precious to set aside time and just - visit!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories