Month: February 2010

  •  

     

    Sunday, February 14

    "Make me a blessing, make me a blessing, to someone today!"

    I thought about this song a lot after we were home from our meal and fellowship at Steve and Martha's home.....

     

    IMG_1275.jpg

    Steve and Martha were that blessing today.......

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1269.jpg

    We enjoyed a  wonderful  meal!

    Do you remember my friend, Rachel, who is walking the road of Leukemia?  Martha told Rachel to choose the menu today. How special is that?! Rachel isn't up to extra cooking so this was really special for her.

    She chose roast beef, mashed potatoes, and lima beans. Martha added delicious homemade bread, baked corn, and glazed carrots. Her mother (my aunt) brought cranberry sauce and Joanne made a cranberry salad. Is your mouth watering yet?!  Rachel's husband, Dave, is next to her and is Martha's brother.  

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1282.jpg

    Dawn is my sister;  Glenn is my brother-in-law with the brain tumor. He has not had a seizure since September 2009 and we are rejoicing for each additional day!!

    We're having fun here....Dawn is telling us how Glenn gives her advice as SHE drives!  Because of past seizures, he is not allowed to drive as of yet.

    At some point in our conversation, Martha praised each of these couples (a third one yet) for holding onto Jesus throughout their battle with cancer. On this Valentine's Day, she honored each of these with a very special meal. It meant so much to me to see this very thought-out kindness.

     

     

     

    IMG_1285.jpg

    This cranberry salad is wonderful! Back to the subject....Joanne is the third one dealing with cancer. The young man (Tim) is Steve and Martha's son. I can understand why he still lives at home - the cooking is w-a-y too good to leave!

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1301.jpg

    A closer picture of Joanne. Martha's kitchen is so cheery with lots of light shining in...making it a room that beckons you to come in and enjoy your time there. We were surrounded by relatives today - Nevin and Joanne are first cousins.

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1291.jpg

    This picture really struck me how much mother and daughter look alike! Marian passed on her love of cooking to Martha and  her skill! (Marian and my Mother are sisters.)

     

     

     

    IMG_1299.jpg

    It just blesses me to watch good fellowship with men!  I remember so well when I was first married and one of my friends, a  single girl who was about 34, told me she would much rather sit in a room  with men and listen to their conversation as ours....

    "You ladies just talk about having babies and children!" She was always pretty forthright but kind! (Those qualities can go hand in hand!)   :)

    Martha and Steve were in Alaska doing work with Samaritan's Purse.  Steve, Nevin, and Gerald are looking at those pictures. Gerald is Joanne's husband.

     

     

     

    IMG_1264.jpg

    This table represents, to me, a lot of love put into this Valentine's Day. The kind of love that I see as  laying up treasures in Heaven. I was so grateful to be included in this meaningful day.

     

    P. S. One of our desserts was homemade vanilla ice cream! Yummmm!

     

     

  •  

    WE'RE OUT - 56 hours later!!

     

     

    The snow arrived about 4 pm on Tuesday evening and Thursday night just a bit before midnight I saw lights flashing......it was a V-Plow!! (Our home is on the right.)

    L1010981.jpg

     

    L1010967.jpg

    Notice the stakes....Nevin had doubled them - using duct tape to keep them together so the snow plows could see where our lawn started. The road is to the left of those stakes! You can see we were going nowhere for awhile!

     

     

     

    IMG_1181.jpg

    I found myself going to the bow window, often, in hopes of equipment opening our road. I saw this beautiful flurry of snow.....

     

     

     

    IMG_1183.jpg

    .....it was our neighbor, opening their lane. It was super windy today....causing huge drifts.

     

     

     

    IMG_1187.jpg

    When Nevin opened our garage door to clear our driveway, this is what he saw!

     

     

     

    L1010973.jpg

    There was a snow drift on our porch and walk.  I knew the exercise would be good and thought it would also shortened Nevin's workload if I help. Because of the strong wind, it was r-e-a-l-l-y cold!   Nevin stopped his tractor and insisted he takes a picture. I told him I'm not dressed for a xanga picture!  He didn't care!  

     

     

    IMG_1205.jpg

    I had company!

     

     

    IMG_1198.jpg

    I don't know how many times I heard Nevin say how thankful he is for this blower!

     

     

     

     

    IMG_1232.jpg

    As you saw on the first picture, we had only one lane traffic for awhile on Friday. That morning I didn't get a lot accomplished for some time as I enjoyed watching three pieces of equipment working on our road. The V-plow is in our driveway waiting for the tractor and blower to pass.

    Last week we had a snow storm of 21 inches; this week we had a blizzard amounting to 15 inches. I can enjoy snow storms; blizzards feel dangerous. I felt for anyone who had medical needs or mothers due any time with their baby.

     

    We went for groceries together this evening as they are calling for MORE snow on Monday. If I could give a vote, I'd say we have had enough!

    I trust that wherever you live,

     you are finding God's grace bringing joy to your heart.

     

     

  •  

     

    I received an email today that read "Summer's Almost Here!"

     

     

    Really?

    L1010933.JPG

     

    L1010942.JPG

    L1010950.JPG

    Friday evening at 4pm our snow started and lasted until around noon on Saturday. What a beautiful picture! I found myself walking to the windows very often to take in this lovely scene. When it was finished, we had 21 inches of this white stuff!

     

     

    For our devotions this morning at church, our minister asked us to sing this song reminding us of the wonderful privilege we have of bringing our sins to our Heavenly Father and receiving His forgiveness.

    Would you  like to sing with me.....

    "Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow; Tho' they be red like crimson, They shall be as wool! Tho' your sins be as scarlet, Tho' your sins be as scarlet, They shall be as white as snow, They shall be as white as snow."

     

     

    L1010954.JPG

    This snow is the cause for taking a quick break from my Reminiscing theme and going on a walk down Memory Lane.....Summer memories. I need a reminder about now of that warm, warm weather that I might tend to complain about.

    I wish I was a Literature teacher at this point. Then I could better explain what I felt in my heart. I'll try to take you on a tour through the five senses given to me by my Heavenly Father. 

     

    Tea of Blessing!

    IMG_6859.jpg

    Mother wanted to bless her daughters and granddaughters; she asked Lois if she would have a tea for us. Earlier Lois had her mother-in-law, Marian, and Marian's sisters (which included my Mother) for a tea. My Mother was so blessed by Lois' gift from the Lord just flowing through each touch and wanted to pass this blessing onto us. 

     

     

     

    IMG_6860.jpg

    If you look closely, the yellow hand fans have a little flower pot and blossom for a handle. Our menu is listed on here. At the very top it says,

    "Tea of Blessing with Family, Friends, Sunflowers, Peaches, and God's Goodness."

    It was exactly this!

    We were given the white doily to take home.  I love recalling these memories when I see mine. Above is my mother.....no, this isn't her normal attire but we girls decided to pull out the little girl hats for this day.

     

     

     

    IMG_6864.jpg

    Some of Lois' family helped with last minute touches and then serving. This is Lois' sister-in-law, Kathy. (She also arranged the flowers.) She is giving a Fruit Bouquet to Wendi. Lois' oldest sister, Becky, is behind Kathy. My sister, Dawn, is to the left. You will probably remember it is her husband, Glenn, who has the brain tumor.

     

     

     

    IMG_6866.jpg

    Lois' daughter, Jessica, is helping to serve the "Pretty Peach Soup" in an ice bowl. I tried to get a closer picture to show you.

     

     

    IMG_6869.jpg

    This was not only pretty but very delicious! The recipe is in our church cookbook. The flowers pressed into this were beautiful.

     

     

     

    IMG_6872.jpg

    We enjoyed Apple Harvest Tea Sandwiches, Chicken Salad served in a DayLily, Cucumber Sandwiches, Ham and Cheese Spirals, and Turkey Malibu Wraps! Ummmmmm - my mouth is watering just remembering!

    Today I was very grateful for the gift of sight - the beauty in each prepared "food gift"....the lovely, lovely prepared gazebo located on the lawn between the house and the barn, nestled next to green bushes, pine trees, and tall trees.

     

     

     

    IMG_6874.jpg

    Gwenda had excused herself a bit earlier to use the restroom. She is now posing the statement/question to anyone within listening range - "My candy is missing!" Look at Wendi's face - she does not know what happened to it. Now look at Beth's........she knows!  Next to Beth's glass of water is a glass container with a lid. That is where our candy is - listed on our menu as "Mint and Sweet Endings."(They were!)

     

     

     

    IMG_6875.jpg

    The guilty one!!   

    My very favorite Barb! She's about to remove Gwenda's candy from her glass container!

    The gift of hearing - the warm welcome by Lois....the laughter of loving family....the prayer Mother gratefully gave to our Father before we started our tea....Thank You, Lord, for the blessing of hearing.

     

     

     

    IMG_6877.jpg

    I don't have hardly any pictures of Connie, Lisa, and baby Heath. It was easier to take pictures to my right, as you noticed. This is Orchard Peach Sorbet. It is in just a slightly frozen peach and so very refreshing. You can see the Sweet Endings a bit clearer, here.

     

     

     

    IMG_6883.jpg

    Lois made sugar cubes in the shape of butterflies. We had the choice of Huang Shan Sunset Tea or Mint Medley Tea. We then had Lemon scones and Sunflower scones. Yummy!

    The gift of smell - the flowers on the table beckoned a nose put close....the hot tea lifted to drink brought an inviting aroma...in the flower pot we  found a lavender sachet  in a white hankie. This was a very clean, warm scent - one we took along home to enjoy.

     

     

     

     

    IMG_6884.jpg

    Yes, these three girls again. Mother was to my immediate left and I saw later I don't have ANY pictures of her except the first one and group pictures afterwards!!  I was so intent on capturing  pictures of all these food items before we devoured them.

    Dessert:  Almond Butter Balls, Chocolate Mousse Tower, Fluffy Lemon Squares, Lamingtons, and Raspberry Bars.

    Where do I begin to express gratefulness for the gift of taste?! It falls in the same category of sight. How does one truly express what the eye sees? How does one express the pleasure of food which you see was lovingly prepared by your hostess? Today loveliness and wonderful taste go hand in hand. 

     

     

    IMG_6892.jpg

    The gift of touch...was receiving the hugs given in love and appreciation for each other as family. It was a time away from routine and enjoying the fellowship.  Touch was also a feeling of gratefulness to the Lord as we felt  the restfulness of the two hours surrounded by Lois' warm hospitality.

    This Tea of Blessing has an added meaning to it when you find out that Lois prayed for us and this day. She uses her gift from the Lord to bless others. And that she truly did.

     

           It looks like I may have to refer to these special memories again and again this week as they are calling for

    more snow tomorrow evening!!!

     

     

Recent Posts

Categories